Skip to Main Content
Font Size + A -

Indian Knowledge Systems Division (IKS Division)

भारतीय ज्ञान परम्परा विभाग

(Bhāratīya Jñāna Paramparā Vibhāga)

भद्रायां सुमतौ यतेम | ऋग्वेद (६।१।१०)

[Let us strive for the wisdom that leads to the welfare of all]

About IKS Division of Ministry of Education

The Bhāratīya Jñāna Paramparā Vibhāga or Indian Knowledge Systems (IKS) Division of Ministry of Education (MoE) located in the AICTE Headquarters was established in Oct. 2020. The team initially consisted of Shri A.B. Shukla (Chief Coordiantor), and three research fellows (Dr. Sanjeev Panchal, Shri. Anurag Deshpande, and Shri. Shreyas Kuhrekar). The team was further strengthened in Oct., 2021 with the appointment of Prof. Ganti Murthy (IIT Indore) as National Coordinator and Dr. Anuradha Choudry (IIT Kharagpur) as Coordinator, followed by the addition of Dr. Madhukeshwar Bhat and Shri, Somnath Danayak.

The present IKS Team (Oct., 2023) consisted of Prof. Ganti S. Murthy (National Coordiantor) and three Coordinators namely Dr. Anuradha Chourdy, Dr. Ruchir Gupta, and Dr. Ruchika Singh, Four Assistant Coordinators (Research fellows) namely Shri. Anurag Deshpande, Dr. Pijus Kanti Pal, Shri Guduru Koutilya and Shri S. Sriram.

The genesis of a dedicated IKS Division of MoE is in the one-day workshop conducted on the topic “Research in Indian Traditional Knowledge Systems (Bhāratīya Jñāna Paramparā)” on 18th March, 2020. The workshop was chaired by Hon’ble Minister for Human Resource Development (now MoE), Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and attended by over 100 scholars from various academic and scientific institutions, and other organizations. The first and important action points was to setup a dedicated IKS Division that shall work in mission mode. The IKS Division of MoE was setup in a mission mode and located in AICTE headquarters with the team reporting to the Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE. The administrative support for the Division is provided by the AICTE Headquarters.